Store Front Search Basket Contents Checkout

Account Sign In (optional)

Hypnos Recordings
Binary (Hypnos sub-label)
Hypnos Secret Sounds
Top Sellers - Numina
Top Sellers - Robert Rich
Top Sellers - Steve Roach
Top Sellers - Vidna Obmana
Top Sellers - A Produce
Top Sellers - Saul Stokes
Artists - Alio Die
Artists - Rapoon
Artists - Steve Brand
Labels - Amplexus / Silentes
Labels - And/Oar
Labels - Databloem
Labels - Dataobscura / Blue Oasis
Labels - DiN
Labels - Faria
Labels - Foundry
Labels - Gears of Sand label
Labels - Glacial Movements
Labels - Groove Unlimited
Labels - Hic Sunt Leones
Labels - Infraction
Labels - Nextera
Labels - Neu Harmony UK
Labels - Plague Recordings
Labels - Projekt
Labels - Soleilmoon
Labels - Spotted Peccary/Lotuspike
Labels - Umbra / Penumbra
Miscellaneous Artists & Labels
Used & Last-Copy
Labels - Experimedia
Labels - Malignant
Labels - Diophantine
Labels - Cold Spring
Labels - Greytone label
Labels - AD21
Labels - Periphery

NebulŠ - The Path of White Clouds
NebulŠ - The Path of White Clouds Quantity in Basket: None
Code: hyp3056
Price: $11.99
Hypnos is pleased to reissue this classic ambient album first released by the Stella Maris label. NebulŠ (previously known as "Nebula") is an European ambient supergroup of sorts, featuring Oophoi, Tau Ceti, Mathias Grassow, Klaus Wiese, Lorenzo Pierobon, Luna, and Mauro Malgrande. This is a beautiful, ethereal and abstract ambient recording, which certainly deserved greater attention than it received prior to the demise of Stella Maris, which existed only long enough to release two Nebula albums. That first release was a limited edition CDR but our reissue is a professionally manufactured CD in a beautiful digipak with new graphics.

The Path of White Clouds explores a serene and otherworldly soundspace. Meditative and gentle, these six tracks are sure to appeal to listeners who enjoy the more spacious ambient works released by Oophoi during the height of his Umbra and Penumra sister labels. The sound sources utilized here lean more toward the organic and physical instruments, and electronic processing and synthesizers are used subtly to accentuate the rest.

In the years since this album was released, Oophoi has grown from just another new practitioner of ambient music to a recording artist as respected and well-loved as any other. We at Hypnos have released other Oophoi works such as Athlit, and his collaboration with Paul Vnuk Jr. (of Ma Ja Le), Distance to Zero. We also have an upcoming release The Martian Chronicles by Oophoi with Seren Ffordd. Usually we focus on releasing new projects, but sometimes a significant early work becomes completely unavailable. In a case such as this, the material strong enough taht we're sure listeners will feel it compares favorably with anything recorded since. The Path of White Clouds deserves to be heard.

Track list with MP3 samples
1 The Quest 4:00 MP3 clip
2 Ascension 10:36 MP3 clip
3 Devotion 13:25 MP3 clip
4 The Living Mandala 9:15 MP3 clip
5 Enlightenment 16:20 MP3 clip
6 The Path of White Clouds 11:16 MP3 clip

Track listing with full credits

1 The Quest 4.00
Tau Ceti: synths
Oophoi: synths, singing bowls

2 Ascension 10.36
Lorenzo Pierobon: harmonic chant
Oophoi: synths, electronics, processing

3 Devotion 13.25
Geert Verbeke: himalayan bowls
Mathias Grassow: synths
Lorenzo Pierobon: harmonic chant
Tau Ceti: synths
Luna: vocals
Oophoi: synths, gong, electronics, processing

4 The Living Mandala 9.15
Mauro Malgrande: shakuhachi
Mathias Grassow: synths
Oophoi: synths, bells, processing

5 Enlightenment 16.20
Klaus Wiese: synths
Mauro Malgrande: shakuhachi
Oophoi: synths, electronics, noises, processing

6 The Path of White Clouds 11.16
Klaus Wiese: zither
Lorenzo Pierobon: harmonic chant
Oophoi: synths, voice, electronics, processing

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Oophoi in The Kiva, october 2003

Music concept by Oophoi, inspired by the reading of "The Way of the White Clouds - A Buddhist Pilgrim in Tibet", by Lama Anagarika Govinda

hypnos store front page | main page