Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10
81
Other Ambient (and related) Music / Re: On Inspiration - Chuck Close quote
« Last post by El culto on September 17, 2014, 05:14:40 PM »
Quote from: Cosmic Fabric
What's the difference between a person like you that claims to have ''little gear'' (clearly not true the pictures don't lie) and me and Extasis? Are you saying that you are better than us?


Mr. CCC (sorry for the nostalgically remembrance) and/or Fabric, why you are so much scared about who´s better? I´m pretty sure that anyone here knows and appreciate, that both of you guys (i think "Immersion" was the name of the other person, if he hasn´t changed his name like you meanwhile) are real specialists when it comes to gear and pro-audio judgements!

So, why you need all of this prove?

I hope it is OK to quote your speech and ask you back the same: "I just want a clear answer to those simple questions"…OK?

BTW: You are also invited to participate with all your knowledge to this thread:

http://www.hypnos.com/smf/index.php?topic=7728.0

I´m pretty sure that you´ve missed this thread by "several circumstances" and I´m really looking forward to hear your input there soon!
82
Other Ambient (and related) Music / Re: On Inspiration - Chuck Close quote
« Last post by Crepuscule on September 17, 2014, 04:46:26 PM »

Cosmic fabric – you mention Steve Roach, Robert Rich, Jean-Michel Jarre, Oophoi, Vangelis, Tangerine Dream as your gear inspiration – but I assume these artists all started with a single synth and a reel to reel.

Oophoi did enjoy gear but a direct personal quote was that his ‘dream’ effects chain was a roland VP9000, TCm3000 and sony minidisc 730 – none of which are particularly high end gear. I also find inspirational how he also valued and supported creativity in others. I can’t speak about the others on your list.

Thanks for your input. You're one of the artists with little gear that I enjoy most :)

Indeed I mentioned those artists and I could mention more. It's true they all started with little gear, but when they reached a certain peak, their tracks are full of well known synths with character and if you think a specific synth is not important just try to listen some tracks of Oxygene without the Eminent 310U (in this case an organ) or the Elka Sythex, or Steve Roach without his Oberheims, let's remove them from known tracks and let's see how they sound.

My conclusion is that there are many ways to approach ambient music, It's ok to draw with just a pencil, but using and combining colors is more exciting to me.




83
Other Ambient (and related) Music / Re: On Inspiration - Chuck Close quote
« Last post by Crepuscule on September 17, 2014, 03:50:54 PM »

My studio fits into the little gear category.  There is really not much there.


I just feel that you answer like a politician, you aren't truthful, clear or concise. I think you're confused with what's little and what's too much.

What's the difference between a person like you that claims to have ''little gear'' (clearly not true the pictures don't lie) and me and Extasis? Are you saying that you are better than us? And that's the explanation why you have that big set of tools?
Because we have less stuff than you, but still, we are witch hunted for some unknown reason that has too do with having too much and unnecessary gear.

I just want a clear answer to those simple questions.

84
Now Playing / Re: Currently listening, part 1
« Last post by jkn on September 17, 2014, 07:34:23 AM »
recent spins

Gapfield - excellent beaty stuff from Specta Ciera and Jacob Newman)
Earlyguard - drone drone drone
HAT - Hosono, Atom Heart, Tetsu Inoue - fun album
Kloob - ambient - coming out on Relaxed Machinery in 2015
Steve Brand - his new one coming out Oct 3
B12 - classic Warp
Bola - in a four letter band mood, see below
Jega - in a four letter band mood, see above
a dub techno mix on youtube

85
Independent Music Reviews / Re: My review of "Arcana" CD by Robert Scott Thompson
« Last post by jkn on September 17, 2014, 07:31:10 AM »
I've already thanked you over at Relaxed Machinery - but have to thank you again!  :-)
86
Other Ambient (and related) Music / Steve Brand Premiere on SomaFM Drone Zone – Oct 3
« Last post by jkn on September 17, 2014, 07:27:42 AM »
Reposting from my label site: http://relaxedmachinery.com

We are very proud to present Steve Brand’s newest release, The Space Between.  Even better?  Rusty at SomaFM is going to premiere the entire album at 8pm Eastern on Drone Zone!   – AND – We’ll all be in chat for a listening party!  Join us, won’t you?!?!

Listen:  http://somafm.com/dronezone/

Chat:  http://relaxedmachinery.ning.com

Times throughout the world:


Oct 3:
2:00 pm – Honolulu
5:00 pm – San Francisco
8:00 pm – New York
9:00 pm – Rio de Janeiro

Oct 4:
1:00 am – London
2:00 am – Berlin
3:00 am – Helsinki
4:00 am – Moscow
5:30 am – Mumbai
8:00 am – Perth
9:00 am – Tokyo
10:00 am – Melbourne
Noon – Auckland



87
Other Ambient (and related) Music / Re: Zanov Feature
« Last post by jkn on September 17, 2014, 07:24:15 AM »
88
Forum Member Projects News and Promotion / Re: Phobos - Sector Four
« Last post by Analoguekid on September 17, 2014, 04:54:11 AM »
First review of Sector Four by Bert Strolenberg (Sonic Immersion)

http://www.sonicimmersion.org/review.php?letter=P&review=73001


Nice one David :-)
89
Forum Member Projects News and Promotion / Re: Phobos - Sector Four
« Last post by phobos on September 17, 2014, 04:39:22 AM »
First review of Sector Four by Bert Strolenberg (Sonic Immersion)

http://www.sonicimmersion.org/review.php?letter=P&review=73001
90
Music Gearheads Tech Talk / Re: Eventide UltraReverb
« Last post by Altus on September 17, 2014, 03:31:54 AM »
Colour me impressed. Definitely going to check out the demo.
Thanks.
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9] 10