Author Topic: Two new releases by Lucette Bourdin  (Read 3176 times)


  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Two new releases by Lucette Bourdin
« on: February 26, 2009, 03:42:24 PM »
Two new CD's by Lucette Bourdin have just been released. One from Stephen Philips' Dark Duck record label and a second from Earth Mantra net label.

From Dark Duck comes the beautiful ambient CD Under Currents a quiet series of musical etchings which speak for the earth and its condition with compassion and feeling.
Titles are:
1 A Parade of Stones
2 Rain Forest Draining
3 New Growth
4 Sonoran Clouds
5 Glacier Lament
6 Under Currents

And from Earth Mantra comes Silver Moon
Review by Darrell Burgan aka Palancar, founder of StillStream net radio.

Ambient master Lucette Bourdin returns to Earth Mantra, this time with a stunning collection of eight ambient pieces, all inspired by a poem by Walter de la Mare.

And 'inspired' is exactly the right word to use. We have long been fans of the music by this California-based artist, but with each release she seems to outdo herself. This collection is no exception. It is, in fact, the best work we have ever heard from Lucette Bourdin, and folks that is REALLY saying something.

This release is composed of eight pieces of sheer ambient perfection. There are many influences evident in her work, from both space music (think Serrie) and traditional ambience (think Roach), but Lucette's genius is her ability to incorporate diverse influences while always firmly stamping her own distinct voice upon the final result.

The music is lush and beautiful, incredibly soothing, and yet without the syrupy sweetness that sometimes accompanies light ambient music. What really sets the album apart is the sound design, which is both understated and yet thoroughly refreshing and original. Mesmerizing and hypnotic, and yet equally suited for active listening and enjoyment. As we said, genius.

With Silver Moon, Lucette Bourdin firmly establishes herself as one of the top artists in ambient music, at any level. We are pleased as can be to be bringing this beautiful album to our listeners, one that is sure to be one of the top releases of 2009.

"Anyway, congratulations!
Your release has already had close to 500 downloads since it was released four days ago, which makes it one of the most downloaded releases at Earth Mantra yet." Darrell Burgan 02/25/09
Nothing in the world is lost,
Nothing falls into the void,
Not even the words and deeds of man;
Everything has its place and destination.

Joe R

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
    • View Profile
Re: Two new releases by Lucette Bourdin
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 06:29:15 PM »
I don't know much about her music, but I always loved her artwork. The genius of simplicity. 8)

jim brenholts

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
    • View Profile
    • rigel orionis
Re: Two new releases by Lucette Bourdin
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 01:47:05 PM »
everything i have heard from her has been excellent.
all the best and God bless