Author Topic: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?  (Read 11810 times)

LNerell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 692
    • View Profile
    • Personal website
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #40 on: September 14, 2010, 02:44:16 PM »
By the way, Loren, did you scribble "Loren was here" in all the Xpanders you touched like mine had!?!? :D

Oh you got that one?!? Well no wonder it had problems, I mean that was the last one I made and I had just come back from a 6 pack lunch.  ;D (Just joking everyone).
Take care.

- Loren Nerell

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #41 on: September 14, 2010, 02:50:15 PM »
Jesse : my current recording computer is Windows XP with an Intel core 2 duo cpu and 4 megs ram.
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #42 on: September 14, 2010, 03:11:29 PM »
APK - I sure hope you have more than 4 megs of ram! 

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #43 on: September 14, 2010, 03:15:35 PM »
he meant 4 kilobytes.

[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #44 on: September 14, 2010, 03:19:22 PM »
I was just gigging with ya.   ;D
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #45 on: September 14, 2010, 03:20:22 PM »
Obviously he has a four gigapixel computer.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #46 on: September 14, 2010, 03:30:30 PM »
I have 4 bits in my brain. And I don't mean 50 cents!

APK - is that a laptop or a PC box? Did you build it to that spec or buy it that way?

MarkM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #47 on: September 14, 2010, 04:43:01 PM »
Jesse, yes the Voyager has quite a bit more mod possibilities than the D. I own a Voyager and not a D, but it has been said that the D has a much bolder sound. The Voyager is said to have a smoother and more refined sound than the D. I also own a Phatty, which has a bolder sound than the Voyager and fewer routings, but it is great for ambient as well.

As to soft synths, I love Reaktor as well as Absynth.

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #48 on: September 14, 2010, 05:04:52 PM »
APK - is that a laptop or a PC box? Did you build it to that spec or buy it that way?

I chose a smaller sized box, then I put it together out of selected pieces.
But the pieces are pretty generic. Could easily buy a refurbished machine,
then adapt it a bit if you are thinking of a new one.
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

phobos

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • No choice is a choice
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #49 on: September 15, 2010, 04:39:31 AM »
I'd actually like to have someone teach me how to setup and record softsynth stuff. I'm at a point where I just do not have the patience or money to deal with softsynths on a trial and error from scratch basis. Plus, to be honest, aside from programs like Omnisphere and Absynth, I haven't heard anything I can't do on my hardware and with better sound. Not a knock against you softsynths folks because I do like some of the stuff I hear - for instance Between Interval is/was 100% softsynths and his stuff sounds amazing!


There are alot of really good softsynths out there for free, believe it or not, so you could try them out at no risk. H G Fortune does some excelent ones, he offers basic versions of his pro ones for free, and the pro ones aren't expensive. A couple of his I would recommend are Alien Space Weaver and Atonoise, all are available for Windows, so not sure what system you use. You can find them here -  http://www.hgf-synthesizer.de/
 :)
http://soundcloud.com/phobos-2
http://phobos.bandcamp.com/
http://phobos-ambient.moonfruit.com/
"A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence."Leopold Stokowski

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #50 on: September 15, 2010, 07:56:28 AM »
Cool. Do I need a vst host? I have never been able to get my Virus TI to work on any of my pcs, but it may be that I'm using Wavosaur. The only programs I use are Acid, SoundForge and Cool Edit. Nothing else. My PC is 9 years old too. I probably need to upgrade.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2010, 01:53:40 PM by Numina »

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #51 on: September 15, 2010, 08:07:59 AM »
So Jesse, you have a quarter million dollars worth of synths in your studio, but you're running on an ancient piece of shit computer and old-fashioned software?

;)

$500 would buy you a new PC that would run just about any soft synth you could throw at it.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #52 on: September 15, 2010, 08:34:16 AM »
Yep, to run vst plugins you need a program that will host them.

I take it yours is an early version of Acid that didn't take vst plugins?

You might look at Reaper   www.reaper.fm
powerful and cheap daw.

The Virus TI software should work in Reaper with no problems.

Your PC is probably under-powered for serious softsynth work, but that depends on how you use them.
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #53 on: September 15, 2010, 08:37:07 AM »
Jesse : You have a Virus TI as well as a C ?   :o
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

jkn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2743
  • cake or death? cake please.
    • View Profile
    • Relaxed Machinery
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #54 on: September 15, 2010, 08:48:45 AM »
So Jesse, you have a quarter million dollars worth of synths in your studio, but you're running on an ancient piece of shit computer and old-fashioned software?

;)

$500 would buy you a new PC that would run just about any soft synth you could throw at it.

Don't know why, but this post just totally made my day!

I've been "playing" with what Logic Studio has in it and also NI Komplete - and wow - the possiblities are just freaking endless.   Me being me - I still like my hardware and bass - but when I recorded my piano "sketch" track the other day it was amazing how 'fun' it was to play the piano sounds - have it respond to me in very nice ways (although my old 1987 era synth I was using as a controller wasn't really "piano like" cough...) - and layering on effects - wow - what fun!

...speaking of - have you heard my new tracks?  I'll post something up in the listening section.
John Koch-Northrup .: jkn [AT] johei.com .: owner / artist .: http://relaxedmachinery.com .: http://twitter.com/jkn .: http://flickr.com/johei

Scott M2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • View Profile
    • dreamSTATE
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #55 on: September 15, 2010, 08:51:51 AM »
Cool. Do I need a vst host? I have never been able to get my Virus TI to work on any of my pcs, but it may be that I'm using Wavosaur. The only programs I use are Acid, SiundForge and Cool Edit. Nothig else. My PC is 9 years old too. I probably need to upgrade.


Jamie & I use Plogue Bidule as our main VST host. It's currently free, but if you pay for the "beta" version you'll also get a VST version that can run inside Live or other VST hosts too. Jamie's assembled some great boilerplate modules from Synth Edit like 16-stereo channel mixers and delays that can be synced to the main clock and still do 30 minute loops if you like. Bidule is also a "toolbox" of synth, audio & MIDI parts to assemble Whatevers.

Once you start using VSTis, as an oldschool synth guy, you'll next want some good controllers. Jamie & I like the Novation line.

If you do want to buy a new computer or laptop - This guy puts together true music-focused systems for max sonic-power with minimum glitch-potential. http://www.adkproaudio.com/choose2.asp and also puts together excellent music laptops.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #56 on: September 15, 2010, 09:07:30 AM »
I tried Plogue Bidule years ago and thought it seemed cool but my recollection is that when I tried to revisit it more recently, my free version had expired, and the only available update was for-pay.  Guess I'll have to go look and see if there's still a Plogue Bidule freebie... not that I mind paying for software that I actually end up using, but I never delved into it deeply enough to know if it would "stick."
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6997
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #57 on: September 15, 2010, 09:09:51 AM »
Also, there's this other company that makes computers that work quite well for audio work.  http://www.apple.com

(hunkers down for oncoming flame-war)

Bear in mind, peeps, with the new Intel machines from Apple you can boot them directly into Windows.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2010, 09:49:41 AM by mgriffin »
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Scott M2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • View Profile
    • dreamSTATE
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #58 on: September 15, 2010, 09:49:13 AM »
Yes, the free version of Bidule is designed to expire after a certain # of months, then you have to download the latest version and it's good-to-go for "x" # of months again until some day they release the 1.0 version. The download page is here:
http://www.plogue.com/?page_id=274

It's been at 0.9xxx versions for years now and works well and they listen and respond to bug-reports and update suggestions on their forum.

Plogue is not for everybody - but it has lots of power to create your own setups for your own visions.

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2258
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #59 on: September 15, 2010, 10:00:36 AM »
I tried and also like Bidule.
But I still use an early version of energyXT for setting up complex VST effects/synth combos.
www.dataobscura.com
www.dataobscura.com/apk
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans