Author Topic: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?  (Read 22179 times)

MarkM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #40 on: September 14, 2010, 04:43:01 PM »
Jesse, yes the Voyager has quite a bit more mod possibilities than the D. I own a Voyager and not a D, but it has been said that the D has a much bolder sound. The Voyager is said to have a smoother and more refined sound than the D. I also own a Phatty, which has a bolder sound than the Voyager and fewer routings, but it is great for ambient as well.

As to soft synths, I love Reaktor as well as Absynth.

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2566
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #41 on: September 14, 2010, 05:04:52 PM »
APK - is that a laptop or a PC box? Did you build it to that spec or buy it that way?

I chose a smaller sized box, then I put it together out of selected pieces.
But the pieces are pretty generic. Could easily buy a refurbished machine,
then adapt it a bit if you are thinking of a new one.
www.dataobscura.com
http://dataobscura.bandcamp.com
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

phobos

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
  • Its still dark, even with the light on
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #42 on: September 15, 2010, 04:39:31 AM »
I'd actually like to have someone teach me how to setup and record softsynth stuff. I'm at a point where I just do not have the patience or money to deal with softsynths on a trial and error from scratch basis. Plus, to be honest, aside from programs like Omnisphere and Absynth, I haven't heard anything I can't do on my hardware and with better sound. Not a knock against you softsynths folks because I do like some of the stuff I hear - for instance Between Interval is/was 100% softsynths and his stuff sounds amazing!

There are alot of really good softsynths out there for free, believe it or not, so you could try them out at no risk. H G Fortune does some excelent ones, he offers basic versions of his pro ones for free, and the pro ones aren't expensive. A couple of his I would recommend are Alien Space Weaver and Atonoise, all are available for Windows, so not sure what system you use. You can find them here -  http://www.hgf-synthesizer.de/
 :)
http://soundcloud.com/phobos-2
http://phobos.bandcamp.com/
http://phobosdrones.wixsite.com/phobos
"A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence."Leopold Stokowski

Numina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #43 on: September 15, 2010, 07:56:28 AM »
Cool. Do I need a vst host? I have never been able to get my Virus TI to work on any of my pcs, but it may be that I'm using Wavosaur. The only programs I use are Acid, SoundForge and Cool Edit. Nothing else. My PC is 9 years old too. I probably need to upgrade.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7124
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #44 on: September 15, 2010, 08:07:59 AM »
So Jesse, you have a quarter million dollars worth of synths in your studio, but you're running on an ancient piece of shit computer and old-fashioned software?

;)

$500 would buy you a new PC that would run just about any soft synth you could throw at it.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2566
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #45 on: September 15, 2010, 08:34:16 AM »
Yep, to run vst plugins you need a program that will host them.

I take it yours is an early version of Acid that didn't take vst plugins?

You might look at Reaper   www.reaper.fm
powerful and cheap daw.

The Virus TI software should work in Reaper with no problems.

Your PC is probably under-powered for serious softsynth work, but that depends on how you use them.
www.dataobscura.com
http://dataobscura.bandcamp.com
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2566
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #46 on: September 15, 2010, 08:37:07 AM »
Jesse : You have a Virus TI as well as a C ?   :o
www.dataobscura.com
http://dataobscura.bandcamp.com
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

jkn

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2803
  • cake or death? cake please.
    • View Profile
    • Relaxed Machinery
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #47 on: September 15, 2010, 08:48:45 AM »
So Jesse, you have a quarter million dollars worth of synths in your studio, but you're running on an ancient piece of shit computer and old-fashioned software?

;)

$500 would buy you a new PC that would run just about any soft synth you could throw at it.

Don't know why, but this post just totally made my day!

I've been "playing" with what Logic Studio has in it and also NI Komplete - and wow - the possiblities are just freaking endless.   Me being me - I still like my hardware and bass - but when I recorded my piano "sketch" track the other day it was amazing how 'fun' it was to play the piano sounds - have it respond to me in very nice ways (although my old 1987 era synth I was using as a controller wasn't really "piano like" cough...) - and layering on effects - wow - what fun!

...speaking of - have you heard my new tracks?  I'll post something up in the listening section.
John Koch-Northrup .: jkn [AT] johei.com .: owner / artist .: http://relaxedmachinery.com .: http://twitter.com/jkn .: http://flickr.com/johei

Scott M2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 735
    • View Profile
    • dreamSTATE
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #48 on: September 15, 2010, 08:51:51 AM »
Cool. Do I need a vst host? I have never been able to get my Virus TI to work on any of my pcs, but it may be that I'm using Wavosaur. The only programs I use are Acid, SiundForge and Cool Edit. Nothig else. My PC is 9 years old too. I probably need to upgrade.

Jamie & I use Plogue Bidule as our main VST host. It's currently free, but if you pay for the "beta" version you'll also get a VST version that can run inside Live or other VST hosts too. Jamie's assembled some great boilerplate modules from Synth Edit like 16-stereo channel mixers and delays that can be synced to the main clock and still do 30 minute loops if you like. Bidule is also a "toolbox" of synth, audio & MIDI parts to assemble Whatevers.

Once you start using VSTis, as an oldschool synth guy, you'll next want some good controllers. Jamie & I like the Novation line.

If you do want to buy a new computer or laptop - This guy puts together true music-focused systems for max sonic-power with minimum glitch-potential. http://www.adkproaudio.com/choose2.asp and also puts together excellent music laptops.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7124
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #49 on: September 15, 2010, 09:07:30 AM »
I tried Plogue Bidule years ago and thought it seemed cool but my recollection is that when I tried to revisit it more recently, my free version had expired, and the only available update was for-pay.  Guess I'll have to go look and see if there's still a Plogue Bidule freebie... not that I mind paying for software that I actually end up using, but I never delved into it deeply enough to know if it would "stick."
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7124
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #50 on: September 15, 2010, 09:09:51 AM »
Also, there's this other company that makes computers that work quite well for audio work.  http://www.apple.com

(hunkers down for oncoming flame-war)

Bear in mind, peeps, with the new Intel machines from Apple you can boot them directly into Windows.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2010, 09:49:41 AM by mgriffin »
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Scott M2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 735
    • View Profile
    • dreamSTATE
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #51 on: September 15, 2010, 09:49:13 AM »
Yes, the free version of Bidule is designed to expire after a certain # of months, then you have to download the latest version and it's good-to-go for "x" # of months again until some day they release the 1.0 version. The download page is here:
http://www.plogue.com/?page_id=274

It's been at 0.9xxx versions for years now and works well and they listen and respond to bug-reports and update suggestions on their forum.

Plogue is not for everybody - but it has lots of power to create your own setups for your own visions.

APK

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2566
    • View Profile
    • DataObscura
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #52 on: September 15, 2010, 10:00:36 AM »
I tried and also like Bidule.
But I still use an early version of energyXT for setting up complex VST effects/synth combos.
www.dataobscura.com
http://dataobscura.bandcamp.com
The Circular Ruins / Lammergeyer / Nunc Stans

phobos

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 436
  • Its still dark, even with the light on
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #53 on: September 15, 2010, 12:17:02 PM »
Hi Jesse,
I use Cubase, you do need a DAW for any serious work with VST stuff, but as a tryout you could use a reaaly nice and simple program called VST HOST which does exactly what is says, it will host a softsynth, actually quite a few, and even has a virtual keyboard built in enabling you to play the keyboard with the mouse, of course you have the option to configure it with a controller if you so wish but that would require usb to midi interface. VST HOST is free to download. You can get it here - http://www.hermannseib.com/english/vsthost.htm.

I actually used that programme to run the softsynths and effects for my Darkness Within album, the laptop running VST HOST was controlled by my beloved Atari 1040ST. I have now moved onto the laptop completely using Cubase to control my Hardware stuff and the Software stuff to. Sorry if I have gone a little off topic here, but I hope you find this useful. I am by no means an expert but if you need some help then you are welcome to PM me and I will try to help if I can. :)
Regards
David
http://soundcloud.com/phobos-2
http://phobos.bandcamp.com/
http://phobosdrones.wixsite.com/phobos
"A painter paints pictures on canvas. But musicians paint their pictures on silence."Leopold Stokowski

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7124
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #54 on: September 15, 2010, 02:03:16 PM »
Jesse, touring musicians much less healthy than you have managed just fine on cocaine and Jack Daniels for a lonnnnnng time!
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7124
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #55 on: September 15, 2010, 03:03:49 PM »
I would advocate, if possible, separate machines for running virtual instruments, and for recording digital multitrack.  You can do it all one one machine if you have a ton of RAM, fast hard drives and fast processors, but separating functions is a great way to make use of less-powerful machines.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Chad Kettering

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
    • Music of Chad Kettering
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #56 on: September 17, 2010, 08:04:04 AM »
Jesse,

A solid running DAW takes a lot of research and careful planning based on what DAW software you intend to use. Send me an e-mail if you need some guidance and help. The land of computers is a treacherous one!!!



Numina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #57 on: September 19, 2010, 09:34:48 AM »
Chad - thanks! Will drop you a line when I'm in the market!

Julio Di Benedetto

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1058
    • View Profile
    • Digtalvoices
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #58 on: September 21, 2010, 08:09:19 AM »
Heres a couple of items I have my eye on

Thermionic Culture Vulture Valve Distortion


Thermionic Culture Rooster


I have been looking for an eq thats not surgical but will add, pull out or simply give a certain something and is straight forward to use so I can flip a switch and turn a knob and get on with writing the music..... The Clariphonic Eq sounds like it does that. IF you are curious you can get an idea from this link http://www.kushaudio.com/kush/clariphonic/Clariphonic_1_-_Better_Mixes.mov

Also want to put some character and color into my simple recording chain, always loved tubes and these Thermonic Culture pieces should do just that, that is if I had the cash or better yet when I do!

Interesting comments about the Matrix 12/Xpander.......I have had my M12 for about  8 months and it is just one of the most amazing synths I have worked with. I did not know how organic sounding it could be.....I know, define organic! It is not easy when it comes to sound. The M12 has a multi patch mode where you can load up 12 individual single patches/voice, the xpander has 6, for me this is where it really gets exciting and fun.  So you program 12 0r 6 single patches and randomly load them into the multi.....the depth of sound than comes from this board in multi mode is like nothing I have heard before.  Today this multi patch layering is nothing special, my Andromeda can do it so can my Virus TI, but its not the same.

Actually my Andromeda has not be turned on since the M12 came into the studio, and most likely will be sold, its also fair to say I have had a love-hate relationship with the A6 over the 6 + yrs I have owned it.  For me it was not the sound of the Andromeda but the way of programming it that was the problem.  It would take me a good while to get something I liked out of it, not because Im a bad programmer, I know what Im doing......actually knowing what your doing doesnt necessarily make you good as well ;)  Im not trying to trash the Andromeda nor compared it to the M12, they are very different and the Andromeda has given my some astonishing patches over the years,  its just the A6 interface gets in the way.  For me and my brain the M12/Xpander interface is way ahead.

Cheers.....Julio
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 04:30:45 AM by Julio Di Benedetto »
"Life is one big road, with lots of signs, so when you ride to the Roots, do not complicate your mind, ... "  Bob Marley

http://digitalvoices.bandcamp.com/
http://databloem.com

petekelly

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 829
    • View Profile
    • LuminaSounds
Re: if you could afford a new piece of equipment, what would it be?
« Reply #59 on: December 01, 2010, 07:25:43 AM »
Got that - well I've got a very good emulation of it (and lots of other things)
with 'Nebula'.
www.acustica-audio.com

The emulation sounds great and colours things considerably.

cheers
Pete