Author Topic: Eventide Eclipse gain levels  (Read 5630 times)

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2010, 11:16:29 AM »
I'm just goin' to have to live with it I guess. Everythin is on the same circuit and nothing else has any ground hum that I can hear.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6989
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2010, 11:27:01 AM »
I'm just goin' to have to live with it I guess. Everythin is on the same circuit and nothing else has any ground hum that I can hear.

That doesn't prove anything. In my old house, my Yamaha S80 had terrible ground loop hum, but no other synths or FX plugged into the same circuit had any problems at all.  I ended up fixing the problem short-term with those hum boxes I mentioned before, but in my new house (with modern wiring) the S80 has no problems at all.

Next time you go to a friend's house (presumably with modern wiring), take the Eclipse with you and plug it in (you'll have to bring along headphones and maybe some kind of little mixer or preamp, unless the thing has a headphone out), and see if you have the same problem.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

LNerell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 682
    • View Profile
    • Personal website
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #22 on: September 24, 2010, 11:34:55 AM »
I'm just goin' to have to live with it I guess.

Come on man, don't give up on us now, you have several options here. Besides, you are an American, the land of if its broken you must fix, preferably an easy fix and done before lunch.  ;D
Take care.

- Loren Nerell

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #23 on: September 24, 2010, 02:26:37 PM »
My house is less than 10 years old and I don't have the hum when plugged in to a different circuit.  I'm not sure, short of a hum eliminator, how I'd be able to fix this on a rather tight budget. 

I can just turn the gain way down and still get a pretty hot signal out of the Eclipse so I should be fine... just, as I mention, not used to that.  I guess in retrospect I've had to turn the gain down on some things at times just to not overload the incoming signal from the source and/or to tweak the noise floor but in general I don't have to.

I haven't done much in the studio for about two years now and just recently re-arranged and trying to get things to quiet down.  It's never been easy to obtain silence.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6989
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #24 on: September 24, 2010, 02:37:20 PM »
For some reason I thought you had old, ungrounded wiring.

Have you tried inputting to the Eclipse via XLR?
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #25 on: September 24, 2010, 03:55:52 PM »
I'm currently using the Eclipse in an effects loop connected from my MixWizard. The MixWizard doesn't have XLR for their effect aux sends.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6989
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #26 on: September 24, 2010, 04:01:20 PM »
That's why they make cables that are 1/4" TRS balanced on one end, and XLR on the other end. I have a few of those for the kind of situation you describe, for example the only analog outs on my M2000 (or am I thinking of my PCM 91?) are XLR but I have it going into a device that only has 1/4" inputs.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions

Numina

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 455
    • View Profile
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #27 on: September 24, 2010, 05:11:24 PM »
I thought you meant xlr at both ends. I am actually using xlr at the Eclipse and 1/4" at the mixer.

mgriffin

  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6989
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
    • www.hypnos.com
Re: Eventide Eclipse gain levels
« Reply #28 on: September 24, 2010, 06:05:27 PM »
I was basically just making sure you tried the XLR input on the Eclipse.  How about trying the 1/4" input? Don't some units have different impedence settings for 1/4" versus XLR inputs?  Somebody more engineer-ish might know, or maybe it's worth the manual. Worth trying the 1/4" inputs at least.
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) hypnos.com | http://hypnos.com | http://twitter.com/mgsoundvisions