Author Topic: Modular Musings  (Read 272 times)

Julio Di Benedetto

• Life is a privilege, not a right!
    • View Profile
    • Digtalvoices
Modular Musings
« on: January 18, 2016, 06:15:01 AM »

Modular Musings

This project is sort of a sonic blog based on the recordings of my new eurorack modular synthesizer.  These experiments are works in progress that I hope will evolve as I learn and come to understand the full potential of this system.  It is complexed and challenging as well as liberating without the restraints of the black and white keyboard.

I approached these first sounds without any idea of what I wanted or what to expect and it is proving to be an exciting way to work.  As a musician I have created a sonic palette that has grown into what one could call “my sound” which is still very organic and not fixed but I do recognize it nevertheless.  This is not so with the modular sound world as it is always surprising, ever changing and can disappear with the simplest twist of a knob.  There is no memory, nothing can be saved.  When creating a patch you have to risk loosing it and it happens often, in fact working for hours, for days to have the whole patch collapse into a sonic cacophony of mayhem is really the only way to go, you cant go back  only forward and is never the same.

At some moment the patch feels ready to record and this takes place not because I like what Im hearing, thats its good or the sounds are what I was after, its much more that what Im hearing is fascinating and quite the opposite of anything I may have expected and for me this is where I grow and learn as boundaries are crossed and new horizons discovered.

The patches I have put up on my soundcloud page are live performances and are recorded straight to disk....https://soundcloud.com/digitalvoices/sets/modular-musings