Author Topic: New to making ambient etc., looking for critique  (Read 618 times)

lostcontrol

• View Profile
New to making ambient etc., looking for critique
« on: December 05, 2012, 06:14:10 AM »
Hi everyone,

I've been reading the Hypnos forums for quite some time, but now that I'm taking my first steps into making electronic/ambientish music, I decided to finally create an account.

A friend of mine and I decided to take a break from our regular music endeavours (alt./indie rock) and do something different for a change. We're currently making a small EP with some ambient/postrock/drone -tracks.

I'm still quite new at making electronic music (started this fall), and would love some critique/comments/pointers. Below's a link to one of the tracks (early mix), which is to be placed between a couple of post-rockish tunes.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/7018622/postaavikko/postaavikko-BlackMagicWhiteNoise-Gray_Zone_1.mp3

Tried to go for feelings of cold, silent, deserted, dark. What do you think, any pointers on how I should improve it? (Note: Other tracks will include analog instruments as well.)

ffcal

• View Profile
Re: New to making ambient etc., looking for critique
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2012, 09:51:35 PM »
Welcome to the forum, lostcontrol.  I've listened to your track, and have one general suggestion and two more specific ones.  Generally, I would try to resist the temptation to use everything you generate.  I find it is more fun to experiment for the sake of experimenting and not worry too much about whether a given take or piece is the "one" you need to use.  More specifically, I would try to back off the reverb and not use the same amount and setting on each individual track, so that each track is a different "distance" from the listener.  That way you will have both a foreground and a background.  I would also have a few more mid-frequency things happening underneath.  The piece seems to have a high and low set of sounds, but nothing in the middle.