Author Topic: RELEASE: Subradial - Ice Diving  (Read 11739 times)


  • Hypnos Founder
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7171
  • Life is a memory, and then it is nothing.
    • View Profile
RELEASE: Subradial - Ice Diving
« on: May 29, 2014, 08:24:44 AM »
Artist: Subradial
Title: Ice Diving
Label: Hypnos Recordings

Subradial is the musical alias of Tomasz Szatewicz, who was born in the small Polish town of Mragowo. He’s been creating electronic music for twenty years, and has previously released the albums Bioloophorm 1, Bioloophorm 2 and Biorephorm on labels such as dataObscura and AtmoWoroks. His more recent work combines drones, subtle rhythmic loops and textures into churning, visually evocative soundworlds.

Of his inspirations and approach, Tomasz AKA Subradial says: “I was always inspired by listening to the sounds of the environment… I use everything that sounds interesting and what I can further process to create the imagined soundscape, a vision of some place, express my emotions or moods connected with particular times or places, either existing in real life or just imagined/dreamed.”

Ice Diving, his first release for Hypnos Recordings, is an album composed around a theme suggested by the title: a soundtrack to an underwater journey. Like the title, the cover photo (from an actual ice diving expedition in Antarctica) gives a sense of the sound worlds evoked by Subradial’s music. Many ambient recording artists apply titles to their music intending to suggest a theme, but here the effect is especially strong.

Ice Diving is an extraordinarily visual and immersive sound journey, with a wonderful balance between atmospheric/drone elements, and more musical or rhythmic components. We hope the sound samples offered below will convince you to take the trip. Hypnos Recordings presents Subradial’s Ice Diving.

Track listing w/ MP3 clips (follow link at bottom for MP3 jukebox player):
01 Alpha
02 Below
03 Ice Diver
04 Decompression
05 D.A.C. Station
06 The Mirror
07 Dance of Shadows
08 Hydrostatic
09 Octopus
10 Core Oscillations
11 Drifting Downward
12 Batiskaf
13 Out & Dry

Purchase direct for $12.99 ($8.99 intro price until 6-5-2014 only)
[ Mike Griffin, Hypnos Recordings ] email mg (at) | |


  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
    • View Profile
Re: RELEASE: Subradial - Ice Diving
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2014, 04:23:12 AM »
That is a stunning cover - congrats to everyone

drone on

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2005
    • View Profile
Re: RELEASE: Subradial - Ice Diving
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2015, 11:28:08 AM »
This album took awhile to discover its depths, no pun intended.  But an excellent Hypnos release it is.  I'd recommend hearing it on a home stereo system at low to medium volume, especially on a surround system. 


  • Guest
Re: RELEASE: Subradial - Ice Diving
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2019, 02:02:18 AM »
That is a stunning cover - congrats to everyone

Yes, very nice cover