New Pink Floyd in Fall

Started by jdh, July 06, 2014, 01:15:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic


I just read there is a new Pink Floyd LP coming out in the Fall.
Based on The Division Bell sessions,modified in 2014 by Gilmour.So featuring 3 of the 4 members.
All instrumental with maybe 1 vocal.
I remember seeing them live in 1994 and the pre show music was about 30 min of ambient sounds.Still ranks as one of the best.
Who would have thought.


This is very interesting indeed.

Dave Gilmour, one of my favourite musicians of all time, and Pink Floyd one of the best bands of all time.



A bit more news.

This afternoon, Pink Floyd's Facebook page and their website have confirmed the news that broke over the weekend of the forthcoming new album.

They state: "Pink Floyd can confirm that they are releasing a new album The Endless River in October 2014. It is an album of mainly ambient and instrumental music based on the 1993/4 Division Bell sessions which feature David Gilmour, Nick Mason and Richard Wright. The album is produced by David Gilmour with Phil Manzanera, Youth and recording engineer Andy Jackson. Work is still in progress, but more details to come at the end of the Summer".

Interesting about the Youth comment.Youth of The Orb and Killing Joke.Gilmour did a project with him as The Orb a few years ago (and not very good at that)


Certainly looking forward to this Floyd project.

I have that Orb - Metallic Spheres album, hardly listened to it. Might stick it on today. Youth also worked in McCartney's "ambient" project ....The Fireman. I have the "Electric Arguments" album but again have hardly listened to it. From memory it was mainly vocal rock/pop but there were some ambient pieces on it. McCartney apparently into and interested in ambient !?

Scott M2

I have the 2 disc set of Metallic Spheres and quite like it. Dave is my fave guitar player and I used to be fond of the Orb, so I find lots to enjoy here. It has that Orb sloppyness to it but I think Dave fits their style like Steve Hillage used to. BTW - It's the second disc of the special edition which is actually my preference.


Love anything PF. But this one "could" be a crock of "sh!te"
I hope they (David Gilmour and Nick Mason) will do this album proper. It doesn't sound like Robert Waters will be involved. Well, maybe another lawsuit. This album reminds me of Tangerine Dream's Ambient Monkeys. Nothing but pre-concert ambient sounds, which is okay if I'm at the concert and waiting for the band to take stage. But to pay $$'s for some leftover sounds that David Gilmour put out for pre concert stuff is a ripoff IMO.
Get back in the studio and add some vocals and maybe invite Roger Waters.

Scott M2

Well first of all, they did go back in the studio and add some vocals, for at least a couple of songs. From what I've heard, there's no Roger involvement though - David and Polly lyrics. Secondly, Ambient Monkeys, which I have heard, I agree was quite a disappointment and not particularly ambient. I remember the ambient sounds before the DB concerts and they definitely were more ambient noises than music. I'm guessing that the new album will focus more on musical bits and probably will be molded into some song structures too. Fingers are crossed. Low expectations, though, lead to pleasant surprises.


Here is a complete track listing for The Endless River:

1. "Things Left Unsaid"
2. "It's What We Do"
3. "Ebb and Flow"

1. "Sum"
2. "Skins"
3. "Unsung"
4. "Anisina"     

1. "The Lost Art of Conversation"
2. "On Noodle Street
3. "Night Light"
4. "Allons-y (1)"                         
5. "Autumn'68"                         
6. "Allons-y (2)"                       
7. "Talkin' Hawkin'"

1. "Calling"
2. "Eyes To Pearls"
3. "Surfacing"
4. "Louder Than Words"

I can only say that I greatly enjoyed The Division Bell,more so the instrumental parts so I am looking forward to hearing this.No vocals except 1 track,no Roger.I agree that in some ways if it was not good enough in 1994 for release,why now.But with the reworking of tracks,who knows.I remember hearing the 30 minute ambient sounds intro during the  D.B. tour and thought it was actually a very cool way to start the show.It was not music but the way they did it.In a stadium setting very slowly bringing the volume up with left/right panning made my ears pay attention.



3 minute video clip of David Gilmour recording the new LP.Rare that you can see the studio monitors and vocals.I am looking forward to this.But as he states,this is the end of P.F.
(and no comments on how it ended with Roger leaving)


LP released today.I listened to all the samples on Itunes while I wait for my CD.Some of the sounds are a bit Wish You Were Here,The Wall and of course The Division Bell.You can also see video samples at the end of the preview of the band in the studio.Will it be a classic as the final PF product,time will tell.


I received  my CD / Bluray box yesterday.

4 listens in and I am enjoying it. Going to get right into the music then blow my mind with the 5.1 DTS  8)

Dave Michuda

I've been listening to the new album for a few days now.  I definitely like parts of it, but my overall impression is that it's boring.  It's not a bad album, just kind of boring.

Wayne Higgins

Disappointing.  Sounds like they found some tape in an old box labled "throw always". Definitely not two vinyl albums worth.
So, I'm a "Sr Member", huh?  In June it's SENIOR DISCOUNT TIME!!!


It certainly will not go down as a historical PF album in any way.But I think that was not its intention.Its origins were from the DB sessions and was originally an ambient album,meant as a companion to the DB.In that context,it works.I combined this album with the DB in Itunes using the crossfade function on my Ipod and made my own 2 hour album,took out a few tracks and it works very well.But yes,most of it is quite dull.On the other hand,this will be the last ever music by PF.

drone on

Got this yesterday, and after a few listens I'm really liking this.  Plays like an aural snapshot of PF, for reflecting back on their career.  A fitting bookend, even though not a "proper" album.  Some great music here, with a nostalgic, melancholy and dreamy vibe.  Not boring to these ears at all.