Author Topic: Best DAW for Ambient Music 2015  (Read 22874 times)

JohnnyRocket

• View Profile
Best DAW for Ambient Music 2015
« on: November 16, 2015, 03:25:20 PM »
I'm interested in creating Ambient music, and need some insight and help from those already doing something similar.  The type of Ambient music I want to create is similar to Brian Eno and Liquid Mind.  I don't have an interest in DJ, Dance or Hip Hop music.  I'm a pianist/ solo piano composer and have a good foundation on music theory.  By trade I'm also a piano technician, and have a good foundation of acoustical theory and modulating sound.  About 10 years ago, I spent a few years studying audio engineering and spend time interning in a recording studio, (just enough to be dangerous of course).  I'm pretty much out of the loop with DAWs and music engineering.  In the past I've used Protools, Digital Performer and Cuebase.

There are three things I need help on:
what is the best DAW for what I want to do? 
What is the best keyboard/ midid controller for what I want to do?
What computer is best Mac or PC?

DAW
I really like modulating, tweaking sounds and soundscapes. I don't plan on doing anything live.  I will be sitting in my soon to be home studio and composing music.  I want to mainly work with softsyths and plugins.  I've worked with hardsyths and studio gear in the past.  Before we go down the road of hard gear is better, I already understand that concept. No need to debate that here!  I don't have the space or the money at this point for hardware, that is why I'm going with softsyths and plug-ins for the time.  I've heard Live, Logic, FL Studios and Reason would all be good for what I want. I'm leaning more towards the purchasing Logic and would like feedback.

Live