MUSIC, AMBIENCE AND SOUND ART > Music Gearheads Tech Talk

Hardware Set-Up Help Request - I'm new to hardware instruments. :)

(1/4) > >>

Gemini Ambience:
Hey everyone!

It's been a while since I've logged in, I finally finished my bachelor's degree in May; and have been enjoying the freedom of getting my life back.  hehe

Now I have the time to attend to the studio I've put together over the last 2 years while I was a student. I've run into a problem, and after consulting manuals...I'm still a little confused and need input from my peers.

Hardware involved:  MacBookPro - OSX Leopard, Edirol UA-25 audio interface (external), Edirol M-10DX digital mixer, Yamaha AN1x, and Virus A Rack.

Situation: I cannot find a way to connect both the Yamaha and Access together and get them to show up in Cubase. I think the issue lies with the digital mixer, but I'm not sure. When I connect the Yamaha to the digital mixer, I get the audio out of the synth but I cannot seem to get Cubase to record it. I can use it as a midi controller in Cubase for any vsti in Cubase, however, and I can also play it via midi data in a midi channel. So now I just need to figure out how to get the outputs of the synths to show up in Cubase's mixer with their own channel/bus.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks,

Jim

mgriffin:
We would need to know more about where each synth is plugged-in, to be able to help.  In other words, your problem isn't that Cubase doesn't see the Yamaha and the Access, it's between your computer and either your audio interface or your digital mixer.  Give a description of how things are patched and I'm sure someone will be able to give you some ideas to try.

Gemini Ambience:
The setup now is as follows:

MIDI:  AN1x midi out  --->  Edirol UA-25 midi in
         Edirol UA-25 midi out  --->  AN1x midi in

AUDIO:  AN1x L/R out ---> Edirol M-10DX  3/4 in
            Edirol M-10DX digital out  --->  Edirol UA-25 digital in